The Breviary of St Adrian of Geraardsbergen, nowadays kept at Maredsous Abbey, dates from 1450, when the County of Flanders was in the hands of Philip the Good, Duke of Burgundy. During his rule, the Southern Netherlands experienced a period of unprecedented cultural growth. Following in the footsteps of painters such as Jan van Eyck and Rogier van der Weyden, scribes and miniaturists pooled their skills to produce manuscripts of exceptionally high quality. The impressive Geraardsbergen Breviary came into being within that energising context. The Breviary is important not only because of the exceptional quality of its execution, but also because it represents a key work for our knowledge of Flemish illuminated manuscripts in the mid-fifteenth century.

In the new website the visitor can get insight into the art technical research and conservation project of the Breviary of Geraardsbergen (Grammont). Several stories illustrate the importance of the manuscript, the devotion of St Adrian, the history of the Abbey of Geraardsbergen and the talented illuminators who worked together on this extensive liturgical manuscript. The website in three languages (Dutch, French and English) offers the opportunity to browse through the entire manuscript and discover every detail:

A project of the Book Heritage Lab – KU Leuven, the Faculty of Theology and Religious Studies and the Royal Institute for Cultural Heritage, in collaboration with the Abbey of Maredsous, with the support of the Baillet Latour Fund. Info:

Practical information on the focus exhibition:

  • Maurits Sabbe Library, Charles Deberiotstraat 26, 3000 Leuven
  • Mo – Fr: 9 am – 10 pm; Sa: 9 am – 1 pm

Link to the new website: